The George L. DeWan Memorial Scholarship

Brianne Ledda, center, the 2018 George L. DeWan Memorial Scholarship recipient with the DeWan family, right, and her parents, left.

Awarded to an outstanding full-time journalism major or minor who demonstrates critical thinking, outstanding narrative writing ability and a commitment to social justice as reflected in his/her journalistic work, and/or an ability to make complex issues accessible to all audiences. This scholarship is for a rising sophomore or junior and preference will be given to journalism majors.

Submit three examples of outstanding journalistic work, done for class, a campus news outlet or a professional news organization. Submitted work may include photography, audio, video, written stories or a multimedia presentation, or any combination of the above.

The DeWan scholarship may be used for tuition and/or non-tuition expenses as determined by the Office of Financial Aid.

George L. DeWan was an esteemed journalist who retired from Newsday in 2001 after 44 years of reporting on poverty, minority affairs, banking, gardening and, most notably, the history series “Long Island Our Story.” He died in 2014 at age 80. He was a passionate and meticulous reporter, with a love of history and language. He wrote more than 60 stories in the 273-day Long Island history project, which ran from September 1997 to June 1998, and spawned several books, a classroom curriculum, and other media projects.

2019 recipient – Wilko Martinez-Cachero Vas

2018 – Brianne Ledda
2017 – Anisah Abdullah
2016 – David Mayer